Wednesday, September 19, 2012

Fall 2012 New Music Playlist

Here’s a selection of new music off highly anticipated releases from indie strongholds Grizzly Bear and Animal Collective along with singles from upcoming releases from Tame Impala and Matt and Kim.  New super group Divine Fits provided a strong entry of solid songs while David Byrne handpicked Annie Clark (a.k.a. St. Vincent) for another collaborative project.  With so much new music out recently, a Late Fall New Music Playlist is already in the works -- of course that’s never a bad thing! Link to listen here.

1. “Let’s Go” – Matt and Kim
“Let’s Go” is the single off the upcoming release Lightning, from Brooklyn’s indie dance punk couple Matt Johnson and Kim Schifino.  While remaining true to their minimalist DIY roots, this latest party anthem rocks a rollicking beat, alternating cooing and yelping vocals, plus handclaps of fun. 

2. “Fineshrine” – Purity Ring
New band Purity Ring is also a duo – Canadians Corin Roddick and Megan James wrote the songs for their debut album, Shrines, miles apart but they quickly became noticed in the international music scene for a hybrid of eclectic electro pop.  James’ voice is at once commanding and childlike, while instrumentalist Roddick provides synth beats for the foundation.

3. “Gun Has No Trigger” – Dirty Projectors
Experimental alt rock band Dirty Projectors have released seven full length albums, the latest Swing Low Magellan, with “Gun Has No Trigger” as its single.  The six members of the Brooklyn group create an always interesting, collaborative sound under frontman David Longstreth.

4. “Hidden” – Erika Spring
Erika Spring of Brooklyn’s synth pop band Au Revoir Simone strikes out solo with a self-titled EP.  This single “Hidden” features Jorge Elbrecht of Violens on percussion (he also produced the songs), with Spring’s dreamy vocals finding a new path for her musical ambition.

5. “Apocalypse Dreams” – Tame Impala
Australian pysch rock band Tame Impala’s sophomore album Lonerism, is due in October, but the group released “Apocalypse Dreams” as a free download to its eager fans.  It’s a journey into their fuzzed out soundscape with a few musical twists to keep things fresh.

6. “Would That Not Be Nice” - Divine Fits
Britt Daniels of Spoon and Dan Boeckner of Handsome Furs and Wolfe Parade joined forces to create the new band Divine Fits.  This single of their debut album, A Thing Called Divine Fits, has Daniels’ familiar barking vocals leading the way in a confident pairing of like-minded indie rock musicians.

7. “Summertime Is Coming” – Paul Banks
Interpol’s frontman Paul Bank returns to his side project for another EP, Julian Plenti Lives… although the songs will soon be folded into a full length album simply called Banks.  “Summertime Is Coming” highlights the familiar baritone, finding his swagger alone in the forefront of his own musical vision.

8. “I Won’t Go” – thenewno2
The alt rock band thenewno2’s sophomore album, thefearof missingout, continues with the creative musings of frontman Dhani Harrison (a.k.a. George Harrision’s son).   “I Won’t Go” showcases his snarling vocals and a guitar-centric point of view in songwriting.

9. “Only In My Dreams” – Ariel Pink’s Haunted Grafitti
West coast band Ariel Pink’s Haunted Graffiti revisits an early rock subtext for this tune, “Only In My Dreams.”   The latest album, Mature Themes, expands on the home studio aesthetic of multi-instrumentalist Ariel Pink into a group think partnership.

10. “Who” – David Byrne & St. Vincent
David Byrne continues his crazy work ethic by releasing an album Love This Giant, with Annie Clark, who channels her own iconic persona as St. Vincent.  The quirky texture with Byrne’s distinctive vocals carry the tune with a horn section lending a funky vibe in this single, “Who.”

11. “Sleeping Ute” – Grizzly Bear
12. “Yet Again” – Grizzly Bear
Brooklyn art rock band Grizzly Bear is back after its acclaimed 2009 album, Veckatimest.  “Sleeping Ute” and “Yet Again” illustrate the group’s famed creative aesthetic in their fourth album, Shields.

13. Applesauce – Animal Collective
Experimental psych band Animal Collective is back with their eleventh album, Centipede Hz.  “Applesauce” is a fun romp from the prolific group originally based in Baltimore, and each member has their own side project to keep them busy as well.

14. “Old Friend” – Sea Wolf
Indie folk artist Alex Brown Church has created four releases as Sea Wolf, channeling a laid back persona for a catalogue of intimate songs.   “Old Friend” is a sweet tune over an intricate percussive backbone and the single off the latest album, Old World Romance.

15. “October” – The Helio Sequence
“October” is the single off Negotiations, the fifth full length album from this alt rock duo based near Portland. Brandon Summer (vocals) and Benjamin Weikel (drums/keyboards) put together a space out jam that glides along after the ethereal guitar intro.

16. “Alruccabah” – Nickodemus
Music Producer Nickodemus fosters a world view in the dance music scene after growing up amid the many cultures found in New York City.  “Alruccabah” is off his third album, Moon People, which includes many of his favorite collaborators such as Afrika Bambaataa, The Real Live Show, and Belleruche.