Friday, September 28, 2018

Fall 2018 New Music Playlist

Listen on Spotify or as a YouTube Playlist, enjoy!

1. "The Hammer" – Rolling Blackouts Coastal Fever
2. "Forum"  – The Dodos
3. "When I Look Into Your Eyes" – Baby Dayliner
4. "Wham Bang! Pow! Let's Rock out!" – Art Brut
5. "Forgive (featuring Washed Out)" – Roosevelt
6. "It May Get Bad When You're Lonely and Cold" – Generationals
7. "Good News" – White Denim
8. "Jerry" – Maxband
9. "If You Really Love Nothing" – Interpol
10. "Enough to Believe" – Bob Moses
11. "I Dreamt We Spoke Again" – Death Cab for Cutie
12. "Run the Road" – Santigold
13. "Skiptracer" – Okkervil River
14. "Suspirium" – Thom Yorke
15. "Maryam" – The Album Leaf

Thursday, August 2, 2018

Late Summer 2018 New Music Playlist

Listen on Spotify or as a YouTube Playlist, enjoy!

1. "Letting Go" – Wild Nothing
2. "Humility (featuring George Benson)" – Gorillaz
3. "Someday" – Phantogram
4. "Saturday" – Phantogram
5. "Losing You" – boy pablo
6. "New Birth in New England" – Phosphorescent
7. "Heaven Only Knows" – Bob Moses
8. "Being Here" – Vacationer
9. "A Perfect Miracle" – Spiritualized
10. "Gold Rush" – Death Cab for Cutie
11. "Lucy" – Still Woozy, ODIE
12. "A Trick of the Light" – Villagers
13. "Happiness Reigns" – Cullen Omori
14. "Straight Shot" – DeVotchKa
15. "Where Your Mind Wants to Go (featuring Ludocio Einaudi)" – Blonde Redhead
16. "Floating World" – Hammock

Thursday, May 24, 2018

Summer 2018 New Music Playlist

Listen on Spotify or as a YouTube Playlist (with glorious live versions by Unknown Mortal Orchestra, Dr. Dog and Washed Out!) 

1. "Magnetism" – Vacationer
2. "SGL" – Now, Now
3. "Back Seat Driver (Spirit Guide)" Bear Hands
4. "Wide Awake" – Parquet Courts
5. "Transhumanity" – JB Dunckel
6. "Once In My Life" – The Decemberists
7. "Quiero OtoƱo de Nuevo" – Mint Field
8. "Cranberry" – Hovvdy
9. "It Was Not Natural" – Wye Oak
10. "It's Late" – A Beacon School
11. "These Falling Arms" – The Sea and Cake
12. "It You're Going to Break Yourself" – Unknown Mortal Orchestra
13. "Human Being Song" – Okkervil River
14. "Buzzing In the Light" – Dr. Dog
15. "Black Car" – Beach House
16. "Pirates" – Brazilian Girls
17. "Juicy Socks" – Cherry Glazer
18. "Face Up" – Washed Out

Friday, March 9, 2018

Spring 2018 New Music Playlist

Listen on Spotify or as a YouTube Playlist (except "Find a Way to Keep Me" by Field Music and bonus tracks "Shades of Blue," "You Are Here," and "She May She Might" by Yo La Tengo).

1. "Always Ascending" – Franz Ferdinand
2. "The Louder I Call, the Faster It Runs" – Wye Oak
3. "Out of the Pool" – Yo La Tengo
4. "Lemon Glow" – Beach House
5. "Don't Move Back to L.A."  – Okkervil River
6. "Under the Wheels" – Calexico
7. "This Is That" – David Byrne
8. "Mr. Tillman" – Father John Misty
9. "Wait By the River" – Lord Huron
10. "Algernon" – A Beacon School
11. "Leave It In My Dreams" – The Voidz
12. "Runnin'" – Wajatta
13. "The Ceremony of Innocence" – Moby
14. "Emerald Rush" – Jon Hopkins
15. "Find a Way to Keep Me" – Field Music
16. " More" – Jamison Isaak

Thursday, February 8, 2018

Romantic Songs Playlist for Valentine's Day 2018

Compiling this year's Romantic Songs Playlist for Valentine's Day was an easy task, considering all the great new music lately from fave bands. Here are tunes that pull at the heartstrings by LCD Soundsystem, Arcade Fire, The National, Beck, Spoon, Washed Out, Mew and more. And check out the gender-balanced cover of Interpol's "PDA" by Daywave and Hazel English. Whether coupled up or single at the moment, it's all music to feed the soul.

Listen to my Romantic Songs Playlist for Valentine's Day 2018 on Spotify here.  For further inspiration, visit my posts from past years: 20172016201520142013, and 2012.

1. "oh baby" – LCD Soundsystem
2. "Hold On to Me" – Mondo Cozmo
3. "All Disco" – Elbow
4. "Do I Have to Talk You Into It" – Spoon
5. "Seventh Heaven" – Beck
6. "Dark Side of the Gym" – The National
7. "We Don't Deserve Love" – Arcade Fire
8. "Come Break My Heart Again" – The Lone Below
9. "Hard to Say Goodbye" – Washed Out
10. "To Hold and Have" – The Dears
11.  "Love Is Love (Sun on Time)" – Woods
12. "Call It Dreaming" – Iron & Wine
13. "Carry Me To Safety" – Mew
14. "PDA" – Daywave, Hazel English
15. "Up All Night" – The War on Drugs
16. "Girl Like You" – Toro Y Moi
17. "The Fear" – The Shins
18. "We a Famly" – The Flaming Lips

Thursday, January 25, 2018

Winter 2018 New Music Playlist

Listen on Spotify or as a YouTube Playlist (except "Chico's Radical Decade" by the The Go! Team).

1. "Everybody's Coming to My House" – David Byrne
2. "Fluoresecent Light" – Stars
3. "Severed" – The Decemberists
4. "Gotta Run" – Lea Porcelain
5. "Listening In" – Dr. Dog
6. "Hand It Over" – MGMT
7. "Music Snob" – De Lux
8. "Taste" – Rhye
9. "Echo" – Black Rebel Motorcycle Club
10. "Sunday" – Geowulf
11. "Chico's Radical Decade" – The Go! Team
12. "Can't Stop My Dreaming (of You) – Jono Ma & Dreems
13. "Can't Get It Out" – Nada Surf
14. "The One to Wait" – CCFX
15. "The Deconstruction" – Eels
16. "Friday Morning" – Khruangbin

Tuesday, January 9, 2018

Here's to 2018 – New Releases Ahead by Favorite Bands (David Byrne, Franz Ferdinand, Moby & more)

What a difference a year makes... I combed through the lists of upcoming releases looking for reasons to be hopeful about 2018 and found just a few: Moby, Franz Ferdinand plus all those unreleased tracks by the Gorillaz promised ahead. Then yesterday one of my top musical heroes David Byrne not only announced a new album in 14 years (!) American Utopia but he also gave a talk in NYC entitled "Reasons to Be Cheerful." I tuned into the online stream (archived on Facebook and YouTube), hanging on every word from this wise and witty shaman. Byrne espoused about his latest project, Contemporary Colors, along with answers to world problems large and small. His talk was set to carefully chosen, although some completely random, visuals just like those at groundbreaking concerts as frontman for The Talking Heads. 

Check out the first single from the album "Everybody's Coming to My House" via the video below with fitting artwork of the artist by Doug Henders. This tune produced by longtime pal Brian Eno features danceable beats, poetic lyrics – stream of consciousness, about ordinary but which say much more – and those unmistakable vocals that have been copied, but never exactly replicated. As if 2017 wasn't awesome enough musically with a new album (after many years) from another all time fave band LCD Soundsystem, with this new music on repeat for my ears I am not only cheerful, but one extremely happy music fan. It's simply the same as it ever was!

January 19 – De Lux, More Disco Songs About Love (Innovative Leisure)
January 19 – The Go! Team, Semicircle (Memphis Industries)
January 26 – Django Django, Marble Skies (Ribbon Music)
January 26 – Calexico, The Thread That Keeps Us (Anti-Records) 
February 9 – Franz Ferdinand, Always Ascending (Domino)
February 9 – MGMT, Little Dark Age (Columbia)
March 2 – Moby, Everything Was Beautiful and Nothing Hurt (Mute)
March 9 – David Byrne, American Utopia (Todomundo/Nonesuch Records)
March 9 – of Montreal, White is Relic/Irrealis Mood
March 16 – Yo La Tengo, There's a Riot Going On (Matador Records)
March 16 – The Decemberists, I'll Be Your Girl (Columbia)
April 6 – Wye Oak, The Louder I call, The Faster It Runs (Merge)
April 27 – Dr. Dog, Critical Equation (Thirty Tigers)
April 27 – Okkervil River, Rainbow Rain (ATO) 
Gorillaz – TBD
Arctic Monkeys – TBD
Vampire Weekend  – TBD