Monday, August 13, 2012

Divine Fits Offer Up New Songs on NPR "First Listen"

Photo credit: Marina Chavez
NPR stations are now providing a week worth of listening to the debut release by Divine Fits -- a new band comprised of Britt Daniels (Spoon), Dan Boeckner (Wolf Parade and Handsome Furs), and Sam Brown (New Bomb Turks) along with Alex Fischel on heavy rotation manning the keyboards.  A dozen songs make up the album, A Thing Called Divine Fits, and according to iTunes five were penned by Daniels, five by Boeckner plus one cover ("Shivers" by Boys Next Door).  Quirky rock songs such as "Flaggin a Ride," "Like Ice Cream" and the single "Would That Not Be Nice," have a heavy Spoon influence, while "What Gets You Alone" and "Baby Get Worse" leans towards the synth backbone of Handsome Furs. The acoustic quiet of "Civilian Stripes," layered waves of synth melodies in "The Salton Sea" and a dramatic finale for "Neopolitans" find a creative new ground combining both backgrounds.  Things are in pre-order stage until August 28, when a full download promises a 5-page digital booklet with artwork, recording credits and oft forgotten about lyrics (yes!)

NPR "First Listen" webpage with link to listen here. The band is also on tour, including a stop at Brooklyn's Music Hall of Williamsburg on September 9 and in Asheville, North Carolina, at Moogfest 2012 this October.

A Thing Called Divine Fits track list:
1. My Love Is Real
2.  Flaggin a Ride
3. What Gets You Alone
4. Would That Not Be Nice
5. The Salton Sea
6. Baby Get Worse
7. Civilian Stripes
8. For Your Heart
9. Shivers
10. Like Ice Cream
11. Neopolitans